Kesha the Songwriter

*

Hopefully in the future, I’ll be in a position where I can put out a ballad or a more vulnerable song…What’s been put out as singles have just perpetuated a particular image that may or may not be entirely accurate. I’d like to show the world other sides of my personality. I don’t want to just continue putting out the same song and becoming a parody myself. I have so much more to offer than that and I can’t wait till the world really gets to hear that on the radio. – Kesha to Rolling Stone


In a fan recording, Ke$ha is heard complaining about “somebody in my life” not letting her put Machine Gun Love on her Warrior album. She also says she wanted to release The Harold Song and Animal but they won’t release slow songs. The 15 second recording uploaded on 28 November 2013 is at http://instagram.com/shaunsuxx#. It’s the video with this autographed Ke$ha photo. This is the direct link: http://instagram.com/p/hSNIa2P7jE/. – http://keshadailycharts.blogspot.co.uk/2013/11/kesha-complains-about-her-label-not.html


 

I really wanted to bring as much rock ‘n’ roll as I could to this record, but after a from-the-business-standpoint conversation with my producer [her mentor Lukasz ‘Dr Luke’ Gottwald], he was like, if you want to have a successful record you can’t just abandon that sound.

A lot of people think Kesha’s songs are all about partying, but that is untrue. Even she is aware of this misconception, and while in the past she has not always been allowed to release the type of music she wants, she has been able to show people a different side of her. The songs that get played on the radio can be vapid (though in 2013, Kesha released an EP: Deconstructed. It featured stripped down versions of some of her dance songs), but she is capable of writing songs that are emotional like “Love Into The Light” and “Last Goodbye”. She describes her usual music as “fun” and says she doesn’t take herself seriously, so I think there is no point getting angry about her songs. I think it is fine that she writes songs about having fun and letting loose. I find some of her lyrics offensive and they should be taken seriously. She shouldn’t not take responsibility of the bad things she’s said just because it’s “art” or “fun” or “not taking myself seriously”.

Writing for Other Artists

Britney Spears

Kesha wrote the Britney Spears song “Till the World Ends” and it was used as one of the singles on Britney’s seventh studio album Femme Fatale. It was released in 2011 and Kesha was later featured alongside Nicki Minaj on the song’s “Femme Fatale Remix”. “Till the World Ends” was a very successful track, and Kesha said about it:

I’ve never been more proud of anything in my career… It really solidifies me as a songwriter in the pop music world, which is what I consider myself first and foremost. So it actually is really, really exciting for me when I hear [Britney] sing it. Like, when I hear my own songs on the radio I have to kind of turn it down or change the radio or whatever. When I hear that, I fucking blow the speakers out and I order everybody to dance.


I consider myself a songwriter before and above everything else, so it’s an honor to write for one of pop music’s biggest icons. And I hope it gets everyone’s ass on the dance floor cuz y’all know that’s what K-Monay does best!


I didn’t get to see her record the track, but I have met her and she’s super sweet. She’s the queen of pop music, so it was quite a compliment that she wanted to record it. For her to then put it out as a single is fucking amazing. That song was written specifically for Britney – I put my brain in Britney Spears land and wrote that whole song for her.

Kesha was also did backup singing for Britney to pay her rent. She was featured on the song “Lace and Leather” on Britney’s album Circus. She also did backup singing for Paris Hilton.

Miley Cyrus

In 2009, Miley Cyrus released her first EP The Time of Our Lives. Kesha wrote the titular song. From an MTV interview:

Ke$ha wrote the title track from Miley’s hit EP The Time of Our Lives and said that the singer, who was recently praised by Timbaland , was a lot of fun to work with. She added that when she was writing for the “Hannah Montana” star, she took her formula for writing party songs and applied it to Miley’s tween audience. The result? A bouncy, Auto-Tune-filled pop ode to — what else? — having a good time.

“Well, like I said, I just write all the time ’cause it’s all I can do,” Ke$ha told to MTV News. “Writing for Miley was fun ’cause I think she’s funny. I met her and I liked her vibe, so I was like, ‘OK, I’ll write, like, a party song for a younger crowd.’ … And that was fun just because I like her.”

Kesha said about the song to Seventeen magazine in 2013, “It was like $1.63 cents for a song I wrote—I think for Miley Cyrus. It was an embarrassingly tiny amount. But I never cashed it and it’s on a bulletin board in my house.”

Miranda Cosgrove

Interviewer: Have you written a song and thought it would suit another artist more?
Kesha: Yeah, there was a song I wrote for myself and for whatever reason it didn’t end up on the record and somebody else really wanted to record it – so I let her, but usually I don’t like doing it that way. It was for Miranda Cosgrove.

The song in question is “Disgusting”.

Other Artists

Kesha co-wrote:

  • “This Love” – The Veronicas
  • “Run Devil Run” – Girls Generation
  • “About Time” – About E
  • “Pink Champagne” – Ariana Grande
  • “Windows Down” – Big Time Rush
  • “Boy Like You” – Charlee
  • “Boombox” and “Cougars” – Dirt Nasty
  • “Not My Daddy” – Eva
  • “Tease Me” – Gretchen Christine Rossi

*Gifs by lannisturnt on tumblr.

 

Leave a Reply

